All gap cover providers
    2026 published figures

    Stratum Benefits gap cover 2026

    5 products taken from Stratum Benefits's published 2026 documents, underwritten by Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited (FSP 2111). Every figure below links to the source document.

    Get a free callback

    No spam. We only call to help you compare quotes. POPIA-compliant.

    Comparison and insight only

    We do not sell Stratum Benefits gap cover, so we cannot quote it. Everything on this page is taken from the provider's published 2026 documents so you can compare it fairly, and you would apply through Stratum Benefits or your own broker.

    The 2026 document we sourced does not restrict this policy to one medical scheme, so it should be available alongside any registered South African medical scheme. Gap cover always requires active medical scheme membership, so confirm your scheme and plan type are accepted before you sign.

    Lowest published premium: R217 a month

    5

    products in the 2026 data set

    R217–R529

    published monthly premium range

    300%, 400%, 500%

    cover level of the scheme rate

    5/5

    products stating co-payment cover

    How this compares

    Stratum Benefits's cheapest published 2026 premium is R217 a month, which is cheaper than 19 of the 23 priced products we hold across 15 providers — the market median is R395 a month.

    • Cheapest that any medical scheme member can buy: Access Optimiser — R217/month (lowest premium with no scheme restriction)
    • Best for members 65 and older: Access Optimiser — R288/month (lowest published 65+ premium)
    Compare all 37 products side by side

    Access Co-Pay Plus300

    Settles shortfalls up to 300% of the scheme rate

    One premium covers whole family
    Covers spouses on different medical aids

    Monthly premiums (2026)

    Individual, under 65R444/month
    Individual, 65 and olderR591/month
    Family, under 65R444/month
    Family, 65 and olderR591/month

    One premium covers an individual or a family: R444 if 64 or younger, R591 if 65 or older.

    Limits and benefits

    Overall annual limit: R219 845 per insured person per year

    Co-payment cover: Included

    Sub-limits

    • Admission and procedure co payments: R7 000 per policy

    Waiting periods: Standard 3-month general waiting period and 12-month condition-specific waiting period may apply — confirm with provider.

    Source: 2026 Individual Gap Cover Product Range Brochure

    Access Optimiser

    Cover percentage not stated in the brochure

    From ~R217 (cheapest Stratum entry)
    One premium covers whole family

    Monthly premiums (2026)

    Individual, under 65R217/month
    Individual, 65 and olderR288/month
    Family, under 65R217/month
    Family, 65 and olderR288/month

    One premium covers an individual or a family: R217 if 64 or younger, R288 if 65 or older.

    Limits and benefits

    Overall annual limit: R219 845 per insured person per year

    Co-payment cover: Included

    Sub-limits

    • Accidental death and disability: R5 000 principal insured, R5 000 spouse

    Waiting periods: Standard 3-month general waiting period and 12-month condition-specific waiting period may apply — confirm with provider.

    Not published by the provider

    • Cover percentage not stated for this option
    Source: 2026 Individual Gap Cover Product Range Brochure

    Compact300

    Settles shortfalls up to 300% of the scheme rate

    Covers spouses on different medical aids
    Premium waiver on death/disability

    Monthly premiums (2026)

    Individual, under 65R363/month
    Individual, 65 and olderR692/month
    Family, under 65R439/month
    Family, 65 and olderR692/month

    Individual or family R692 if 65 or older. Premiums increase annually on 1 January.

    Limits and benefits

    Overall annual limit: R219 845 per insured person per year

    Co-payment cover: Included

    Sub-limits

    • Penalty co payments: R12 000 per policy
    • Admission and procedure co payments: R20 000 per policy

    Waiting periods: Standard 3-month general waiting period and 12-month condition-specific waiting period may apply — confirm with provider.

    Source: 2026 Individual Gap Cover Product Range Brochure

    Elite500

    Settles shortfalls up to 500% of the scheme rate

    Covers spouses on different medical aids
    Premium waiver on death/disability
    Rewards & wellness

    Monthly premiums (2026)

    Individual, under 65R529/month
    Individual, 65 and olderR858/month
    Family, under 65R650/month
    Family, 65 and olderR1 049/month

    Individual R529 and family R650 if 64 or younger; individual R858 and family R1 049 if 65 or older.

    Limits and benefits

    Overall annual limit: R219 845 per insured person per year

    Co-payment cover: Included

    Sub-limits

    • Penalty co payments: 2 co-payments up to R16 000 per co-payment per policy
    • Private room benefit: R3 500 per policy
    • First time cancer diagnosis: R30 000 per person per lifetime
    • Medical aid contribution waiver: 6 months up to R4 500 per month

    Waiting periods: Standard 3-month general waiting period and 12-month condition-specific waiting period may apply — confirm with provider.

    Source: 2026 Individual Gap Cover Product Range Brochure

    Meridian400

    Settles shortfalls up to 400% of the scheme rate

    Covers spouses on different medical aids
    Premium waiver on death/disability

    Monthly premiums (2026)

    Individual, under 65R275/month
    Individual, 65 and olderR768/month
    Family, under 65R352/month
    Family, 65 and olderR768/month

    Individual R275 if 35 or younger, R352 between 36 and 64. Family R352 if 64 or younger. Individual or family R768 if 65 or older.

    Limits and benefits

    Overall annual limit: R219 845 per insured person per year

    Co-payment cover: Included

    Sub-limits

    • Penalty co payments: 1 co-payment up to R10 500 per policy
    • Admission and procedure co payments: Subject to OPL of R219 845 per person

    Waiting periods: Standard 3-month general waiting period and 12-month condition-specific waiting period may apply — confirm with provider.

    Source: 2026 Individual Gap Cover Product Range Brochure

    Gap cover is not a medical scheme and is not a substitute for medical scheme membership. Premiums and benefits are for 2026 and may change — confirm current terms with the provider before deciding. Information only; not financial advice.