Bonitas Medical Aid

    Bonitas: BonSave

    Savings
    2026 Plan
    From R 4 047/month

    Get a free callback

    No spam. We only call to help you compare quotes. POPIA-compliant.

    Heads up: This is general information, not financial advice. Pricing is sourced from the official Bonitas 2026 brochure but may change — always confirm directly with Bonitas before joining.

    Monthly Contributions

    Main memberR 4 047
    Adult dependantR 3 059
    Child dependantR 1 211

    Max 3 children billed. Child rates apply up to age 24.

    Hospital Cover

    Limit: Not specified in brochure
    Network: Restrictive network
    Network name: A list of specific private hospitals

    A R1 860 co-payment per scan event applies for MRIs and CT scans, except for PMBs. For hospitalisation for removal of impacted teeth, a co-payment of R5 200 per admission applies, or a R2 600 upfront co-payment in a day hospital.

    Chronic Cover

    28 conditions covered (27 PMB + 1 additional)
    Pharmacy: Pharmacy Direct

    Plan highlights

    • Comprehensive out-of-hospital cover through a medical savings account.
    • Additional GP consultations if savings run out.
    • Hospital cover within a specific network of private hospitals.
    • Chronic medicine cover for 28 conditions, using a formulary.
    • Emergency room benefit for children under 6.

    Who is BonSave for?

    • Members who want flexibility — use savings for any healthcare expense
    • People with predictable but not heavy day-to-day usage

    This is general guidance. Use our free calculator to see whether this plan matches your specific needs and budget.

    What's covered

    • Not specified in brochure hospital cover at restrictive network
    • 28 chronic conditions (27 PMB + 1 additional)
    • All Prescribed Minimum Benefits (PMB) — required by South African law

    What to watch out for

    • Planned admissions at hospitals outside the network — co-payments apply
    • Cosmetic procedures, alternative therapies and certain elective treatments
    • Out-of-hospital costs above your annual day-to-day limit (where applicable)

    Compare with similar Bonitas plans

    BonCap

    Capitated
    From R 4 177/month
    28 chronic conditions
    Restrictive network

    Primary

    Network
    From R 3 588/month
    28 chronic conditions
    Restrictive network

    Hospital Standard

    Hospital Plan
    From R 3 561/month
    28 chronic conditions
    Restrictive network

    Frequently asked questions

    Source: Bonitas BonSave 2026 Brochure — accessed 2026-04-28.

    All benefits and limits are per calendar year, unless otherwise stated.

    Managed Care protocols apply.

    All benefits are approved by the Council for Medical Schemes.

    PMB = Prescribed Minimum Benefits. DSP = Designated Service Provider.

    Pricing and benefits sourced from official 2026 Bonitas brochures. Final premiums confirmed by Bonitas at application.