Medical aid cover for children, 2026

    South African schemes price per beneficiary, so what children cost you comes down to one number on each option: the child-dependant rate. Below are the published 2026 child rates, the number of children each option actually bills for, and the age at which the child rate stops — taken straight from the scheme brochures.

    Get a free callback

    No spam. We only call to help you compare quotes. POPIA-compliant.

    R483–R5 992
    published child dependant rate per month, 2026
    R1 350
    median child rate across the options we hold
    92
    options that cap how many children you pay for
    68
    options publishing a child age cap (highest: 27)

    How child dependants are priced in South Africa

    Medical schemes registered under the Medical Schemes Act 131 of 1998 charge a contribution per beneficiary, split into a main-member rate, an adult-dependant rate and a lower child-dependant rate. A family's monthly contribution is the sum of those rates, which is why two households on the same option can pay very different amounts.

    Two rules change the arithmetic. First, most options cap the number of children billed — commonly the first three — so a fourth or fifth child adds no contribution. Second, each option sets an age at which a child moves off the child rate; the caps published for 2026 in our data set range up to 27. Every beneficiary on an option, children included, gets that option's benefits and the Prescribed Minimum Benefits required by law.

    What the 2026 contribution data shows

    Computed from published brochure contributions. These are factual comparisons of price only — not rankings, and not a recommendation of any option.

    Lowest total for two adults and two children

    Main member + one adult dependant + two child dependants, using each option's published 2026 rates. Income-banded options are shown at the band captured in our data set.

    Child rates, billing caps and age caps by option

    94 options with a published child-dependant rate for 2026, lowest child rate first. “Not stated” means the brochure does not publish that figure — we do not estimate it.

    Scheme: planChild / monthAdult / monthChildren billedChild age capMaternity detailSource
    Medshield: MediCurveR483R1 821321Published Brochure
    Medshield: MediPhilaR558R2 145321Published Brochure
    Discovery Health: KeyCare Core
    Income-banded
    R645R2 8453Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 1Elect HospitalR747R1 602327Published Brochure
    Bonitas: BonEssential SelectR774R1 718324Not in summary Brochure
    Fedhealth: myFED
    Income-banded
    R779R1 719327Published Brochure
    Medshield: MediValue CompactR816R2 541321Published Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFEDSavvy HospitalR849R1 155327Published Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFEDSavvy SavingsR849R1 155327Published Brochure
    Bonitas: BonEssentialR888R2 030324Not in summary Brochure
    Discovery Health: Essential Smart SaverR895R2 3503Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Bonitas: BonStart PlusR899R1 940Not stated24Not in summary Brochure
    Medshield: MediValue PrimeR906R2 802321Published Brochure
    Bonitas: BonFitR908R2 021324Not in summary Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 1Elect SavingsR909R1 947327Published Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 2Elect HospitalR922R2 775327Published Brochure
    Discovery Health: KeyCare Start Regional
    Income-banded
    R961R3 4303Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 1 HospitalR963R2 061327Published Brochure
    Medshield: MediCoreR987R3 618321Published Brochure
    Discovery Health: Essential Delta CoreR1 006R1 8873Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Medihelp: MedVital ElectR1 014R1 752226Published Brochure
    Discovery Health: KeyCare Start
    Income-banded
    R1 024R3 7653Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Bonitas: BonPrimeR1 035R2 546324Not in summary Brochure
    Medihelp: MedVitalR1 062R2 376226Published Brochure
    Discovery Health: KeyCare Plus
    Income-banded
    R1 064R3 9803Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 2GRID HospitalR1 098R3 315327Published Brochure
    Medihelp: MedAdd ElectR1 110R2 496226Published Brochure
    Medihelp: MedReachR1 110R2 634226Published Brochure
    Medshield: MediPlus CompactR1 113R3 522321Published Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 1 SavingsR1 122R2 401327Published Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 2Elect SavingsR1 131R3 403327Published Brochure
    Bonitas: PrimaryR1 141R2 807324Not in summary Brochure
    Discovery Health: Essential Delta SaverR1 163R2 1873Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Discovery Health: Classic Delta CoreR1 169R2 3053Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Discovery Health: Coastal CoreR1 196R2 2593Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Discovery Health: Classic SmartR1 205R2 3813Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Bonitas: BonSaveR1 211R3 059324Not in summary Brochure
    Medshield: MediPlus PrimeR1 218R3 879321Published Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 2 HospitalR1 224R3 690327Published Brochure
    Discovery Health: Essential CoreR1 260R2 3543Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Bonitas: BonCoreR1 275R1 2753Not statedPublished Brochure
    Medihelp: MedSaverR1 302R3 504226Published Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 2GRID SavingsR1 306R3 940327Published Brochure
    Medshield: MediSaverR1 311R4 452321Published Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 3Elect HospitalR1 314R3 398327Published Brochure
    Momentum: Ingwe Option
    Income-banded
    R1 318R4 54699921Not in summary Brochure
    Momentum: Custom OptionR1 322R2 958321Published Brochure
    Discovery Health: Active SmartR1 350R1 3503Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Bonitas: Hospital StandardR1 353R2 999324Not in summary Brochure
    Medihelp: MedAddR1 368R3 402226Published Brochure
    Medihelp: MedPrime ElectR1 380R4 002226Published Brochure
    Discovery Health: Classic Smart SaverR1 400R2 8403Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 2 SavingsR1 432R4 312327Published Brochure
    Discovery Health: Classic Delta SaverR1 455R2 8633Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Discovery Health: Essential SaverR1 455R2 7253Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Discovery Health: Classic CoreR1 461R2 8823Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 4Elect HospitalR1 521R4 620327Published Brochure
    Discovery Health: Coastal SaverR1 533R2 8553Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 3GRID HospitalR1 573R4 068327Published Brochure
    Bonitas: BonCap
    Income-banded
    R1 585R4 177Not stated24Published Brochure
    Bonitas: Standard SelectR1 590R4 700324Not in summary Brochure
    Bonitas: BonStartR1 603R1 603Not statedNot statedNot in summary Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 3Elect SavingsR1 622R4 193327Published Brochure
    Medihelp: MedPrimeR1 692R4 896226Published Brochure
    Bonitas: StandardR1 740R5 139324Not in summary Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 3 HospitalR1 753R4 531327Published Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 4GRID HospitalR1 787R5 424327Published Brochure
    Bonitas: BonCompleteR1 794R5 298324Not in summary Brochure
    Discovery Health: Essential Dynamic SmartR1 797R1 7973Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Medshield: PremiumPlusR1 815R8 691321Published Brochure
    Discovery Health: Classic SaverR1 817R3 5773Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 4Elect SavingsR1 830R5 556327Published Brochure
    Discovery Health: Classic Smart ComprehensiveR1 855R7 3373Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Discovery Health: Classic ComprehensiveR1 856R8 7933Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Medshield: MediBonusR1 878R6 330321Published Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 3GRID SavingsR1 880R4 839327Published Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 4 HospitalR1 991R6 042327Published Brochure
    Momentum: Incentive OptionR1 993R4 292321Published Brochure
    Momentum: Evolve OptionR2 029R2 029321Published Brochure
    Bonitas: BonClassicR2 034R7 071324Not in summary Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 3 SavingsR2 051R5 300327Published Brochure
    Discovery Health: Essential PriorityR2 127R4 1893Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 4GRID SavingsR2 150R6 529327Published Brochure
    Discovery Health: Essential SmartR2 161R2 1613Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Discovery Health: Executive PlanR2 185R11 4303Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 4 SavingsR2 398R7 274327Published Brochure
    Medihelp: MedEliteR2 418R8 352226Published Brochure
    Discovery Health: Classic PriorityR2 478R4 8893Not statedNot in summary Brochure
    Bonitas: BonComprehensiveR2 548R11 796324Not in summary Brochure
    Momentum: Extender OptionR2 856R8 125321Published Brochure
    Momentum: Summit OptionR3 756R13 075321Published Brochure
    Fedhealth: maxima EXECR3 792R10 653327Published Brochure
    Medihelp: MedPlusR3 864R15 486226Published Brochure
    Fedhealth: maxima PLUSR5 992R16 739327Published Brochure

    Before the child arrives

    55 of the 95 options in our data set publish maternity detail in their 2026 summary — antenatal consultations, ultrasound scans and related benefits. If you are planning a family, that detail sits on the maternity page rather than being repeated here.

    What we could not populate from the plan data

    The brochure data behind this page has no structured fields for paediatric consultations, childhood immunisation benefits or casualty-visit cover, so those are not compared here. 1 option in the data set carry no child dependant rate (Medihelp: MedMove! Student) and are excluded from the table rather than shown as R0. We are sourcing the 2026 benefit schedules to add child-specific benefit fields.

    Cover for children: common questions

    How are children priced on South African medical aid?

    Medical schemes bill per beneficiary, using a separate child-dependant rate that is lower than the adult-dependant rate. Adding a child adds that child rate to the family's monthly contribution, so the cost of covering children depends on the option's child rate rather than on a single family price.

    Do I pay for every child I register?

    Not always. Many options cap the number of children billed: once you have registered that many child dependants, further children are covered at no extra contribution. The cap is published per option and is shown in the table on this page where the brochure states it.

    Until what age does a child stay on the child rate?

    Each option publishes its own child age cap, and some also allow children to remain as dependants beyond that age subject to the scheme's rules, usually with the adult rate applying. Where the 2026 brochure states an age cap, it is shown in the table.

    Is child cover on medical aid different from adult cover?

    The benefits on an option apply to every beneficiary on it, children included, including the Prescribed Minimum Benefits required by the Medical Schemes Act 131 of 1998. Some schemes add child-focused extras such as paediatric or preventive-care benefits; those are set out in each scheme's benefit schedule rather than in the summary data behind this page.

    Is this page advice on which plan to pick for my children?

    No. It is a factual comparison of published 2026 contributions and dependant rules. It is not advice and not a recommendation. Confirm rates and rules with the scheme, or speak to an accredited adviser, before joining or switching.

    Work out your own family total

    All contributions and dependant rules on this page are taken from official 2026 scheme brochures and linked to their source document. This is general information, not financial advice, and not a recommendation of any scheme or option. Rates and rules change — always confirm current contributions and dependant rules directly with the scheme before joining or switching.